UNIVERSITY OF BENIN (UNIBEN) is a research university located in Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria. It is among the universities owned by the Federal Government of Nigeria and was founded in 1970.

Former name: Institute of Technology
Motto: Knowledge for Service
Type: Public research university
Established: 1970
Affiliation: Association of African Universities
Chancellor: Sanusi Lamido Sanusi
Vice-Chancellor: Prof. Lilian Imuetinyan Salami
Students: 75,000 (estimate)
Location: Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria
6°20.022′N 5°36.009′E
Campus: Ugbowo Campus and Ekehuan Campus
Colors: Purple, Gold, Yellow
Nickname: UNIBEN

University Main gate Ugbowo Campus
The University of Benin was founded in 1970. The National Universities Commission (NUC) has accredited faculties and departments in the university.

College of Medical Sciences:
The UNIBEN College of Medicine teaches medicine and awards a professional degree for physicians and surgeons. The College of Medical Sciences is made of three Schools and an Institute, namely:

School of Medicine:
The School of Medicine was established in 1973, then the Faculty of Medicine to Medicine to run a 6-year Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) full-time degree program. The first Dean of the School was Professor T. Belo-Osagie. He was the Dean from 1973–1975. With the exit of Professor T. Belo-Osagie, Professor K. Diete-Koki became the Dean of the School. Since then, the School has had various Deans and Heads of Departments in the last 30 years. The immediate past Dean of the School was Prof. Dr. (med.) E. Oviasu while the present Dean is Professor Wilson E. Sadoh.

School of Basic Medical Science:
The School of Basic Medical Science was established in December 2003, from the College of Medical Sciences and was finally launched in January 2004. The school undertakes undergraduate programs for B.Sc.

In addition, the school provides services for other schools within the college: Schools of Medicine and Dentistry as well as other Faculties in the University: Sciences and School of Pharmacy. The School of Basic Medical Science has the following seven (7) departments:

  1. Anatomy
  2. Medical Biochemistry
  3. Medical Laboratory Science
  4. Nursing Science
  5. Physiology
  6. Physiotherapy
  7. Radiography and Radiation Science.

School Of Dentistry:

The School of Dentistry coordinates courses and curricular within the College leading to the award of Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS) degree. The School of Dentistry, as it was known then, was established in 1976 and the first batch of students was admitted in the 1976/77 academic session. It was established as an integral part of the College of Medical Sciences in 1975 by an amendment to the Edict establishing the University of Benin. In 2012, with support from the International Federation of Endodontic Associations(IFEA), donations from the University of Texas at Houston School of Dentistry, and the Owen family, Dr. Mbachan Collins Okwen BDS. (Benin), DDS., MBA. introduced regenerative endodontics and modern microscopic endodontics at the University of Benin Teaching Hospital.

Oladipo Agboluaje, actor
Emmanuel Agwoje, banker

Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, co-founder Access Bank Plc and founder & chairman, Africa Initiative for Governance

Josephine Anenih, lawyer and former minister

Helen Asemota, professor of biochemistry and biotechnology

George Edozie, artist

Mitchell Elegbe, GMD/CEO Interswitch

Abiodun Falodun, rector, Edo State Polytechnic.

Babatunde Fashola, former Lagos State governor and current minister of Power, Work & Housing in Nigeria.

James Ibori, former governor, Delta State
Tom Ilube, founder and CEO, Crossword Cybersecurity.

Wellington Jighere, 2015 WESPA Scrabble champion.

Patience Maseli, first female Deputy Director of Upstream Division at the Department of Petroleum Resources.

Richard Mofe-Damijo, actor
Darlington Obaseki, medical doctor and professor

Bright Okpocha (“Basketmouth”), comedian

Ovie Omo-Agege, senator in the Nigerian 8th senate

Osonye Tess Onwueme, writer and professor

Victor F. Peretomode, academic and professor

Benedict Peters, founder of Aiteo group

Amaju Pinnick, President Nigeria Football Federation

Lilian Imuetinyan Salami, academic and current Vice-Chancellor, University of Benin

Ijeoma Uchegbu, scientist and professor

Emmanuel Uduaghan, former governor, Delta State

Sabina Umeh, singer


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here