Umaru Musa Yar’adua University

Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University (UMYU), formerly Katsina State University, was established by the Katsina State Government in 2006, to “serve as a nucleus for socio-economic, technological and political development of the State by producing highly skilled human resource through conventional face-to-face and distance learning modes.”Umaru Musa Yar’adua, then the executive governor of Katsina State and later the president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, began the work of creating the university before his death in 2010.

The law establishing the Katsina State University was passed by the Katsina State House of Assembly on 5 September 2006, and the University commenced academic activities in January 2007 with three faculties (Education, Humanities, and Natural and Applied Sciences), and 16 undergraduate programmes. The State House of Assembly passed a law changing the name of the university to honor Umaru Musa Yar’adua on 8 April 2009.

The first 25 years of the university’s existence have been divided into four phases—three phases of 5 years each, followed by a 10-year phase. In each phase, the university will add faculties, departments, and academic programmes, until it has a total of 13 faculties, 76 departments and 236 academic programmes (undergraduate and postgraduate).

The Visitor of the University is the serving governor of the state (currently Aminu Bello Masari); the Chancellor is Nigeria’s one-time minister of Economic Development, Dr. Umaru Mutallab; and the current Vice Chancellor (as of 2019) is Professor Idris IsahFuntua.


  • Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Social and Management sciences
  • Humanities
  • Education

Faculty of Education

Among the pioneer faculties in the University, Faculty of Education has the highest number of applicants and graduates highest number of students every year. The faculty has link with almost all the faculties and departments in the university where its students are expected to belong to another department for their second course. Thus, students of education are found in courses offered in the university except departments like Business Administration, Sociology, Political Science, and Political Science. In the year 2016, the Faculty offered admission to six hundred and twelve students

Faculty of Education
School typeSchool government
MottoEducation for National Development
School codeEd
DeanDr Zulaihatu Lawal Bagiwa
Head teacherDr. Talatu I. Umar
Key people11

The Faculty is made of Departments of Education and that of Library and Information Science.

The Department offers education courses for undergraduate students in addition to the courses they receive from their second departments such as Arabic, Biology, Chemistry, Economics, English Language, Geography, Hausa, History, Islamic Studies, Mathematics, and Physics. The department also offers post graduate courses in Curriculum, Educational Administration, Sociology of Education, Psychology of Education and Philosophy of Education for Masters and Phd students. Since its inception, the Department of Education employed old timers in education drawn from colleges of education, polytechnics, and teachers with first and second degree working in secondary schools. Among its Heads of Department are Ma’arufNuhuBatagarawa, Mani Ahmad, SunusiMamman, C. C. Okam, YahayaAliyuSa’iduKankara, Talatu Ibrahim Umar.

Courses Offered By Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University as of 2017

  • Accounting
  • Arabic Studies
  • Biochemistry
  • Biology
  • Business Administration
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • Education and Arabic
  • Education and Biology
  • Education and Chemistry
  • Education and Economics
  • Education and English Language
  • Education and Geography
  • Education and Hausa
  • Education and History
  • Education and Islamic Studies
  • Education and Mathematics
  • Education and Physics
  • English Language
  • French
  • Geography
  • Hausa
  • History
  • Industrial Chemistry
  • Islamic Studies
  • Islamic Law
  • Law
  • Library and information science
  • Mathematics
  • Medical Biochemistry
  • Microbiology
  • Physics
  • Political Science
  • Public Administration
  • Sociology


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here