THE UNIVERSITY OF UYO (UNIUYO) is located in Uyo, capital of Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria.

Former name:

University of Cross River State (UNICROSS)

Motto: Unity, Learning and Service.

Type: Public

Established: 1991

Chancellor: Adamu Maje, Emir of Hadejia

Vice-Chancellor: Professor Enefiok Essien

Academic staff: 1,521

Administrative staff: 4,128

Undergraduates: 25,676

Postgraduates: 3,334

Location: NigeriaUyo, Akwa-Ibom State, Nigeria

Campus: City

Number of campuses: 4

Nickname: Tuskites


The university was formerly known as the University of Cross River State (UNICROSS). On October 1, 1991 the Federal government of Nigeria established it as a federal university and the name was changed to the University of Uyo. The university inherited students, staff, academic programmes and the entire facilities of the erstwhile University of Cross River State established by Cross River State in 1983. Academic activities commenced during the 1991/92 academic session. UNIUYO has 12 faculties,the postgraduate school and the school of continuing Education.

The Vice-Chancellor is Professor Enefiok Essien.[2] In 2015 the Emir of Hadejia, Adamu Maje was appointed chancellor.


UNIUYO is in the heart of Uyo, capital of Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria’s second largest oil-producing state. Uyo is easily accessible by road, although there is an international airport for external use(s). It operates from four campuses:

The Permanent Site/Main Campus which accommodates Parts of Central Administration, Faculties of Engineering and Natural and Applied Sciences, Faculty of Agriculture, International Centre for Energy and Environmental Sustainability Research (ICEESR), and the Postgraduate School

The Town Campus which accommodates Faculties of Arts, Education, Social Sciences, Pharmacy

The Annex Campus, home for the Business Administration, Law, Environmental Studies and General Studies

The Ime Umana Campus, Ediene Abak, which accommodates the Pre-Degree, JUPEB and other special courses.

The Permanent Site/Main Campus of the university along Nwaniba Road, Uyo is about 4.5 km from the city centre and covers an area of about 1,443 hectares. The university of Uyo has 12 faculty plus the school of continuing education.

The various faculties are as follows:

1. Faculty of Agriculture.

2. Faculty of Arts.

3. Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences.

4. Faculty of Business Administration.

5. Faculty of Clinical Sciences.

6. Faculty of education.

7. Faculty of Engineering.

8. Faculty of Environmental studies.

9. Faculty of Law.

10. Faculty of Science.

11. Faculty of Social Sciences

12. Faculty of Pharmacy.

13. School of Continuing Education.


1              Faculty of Agriculture

2              Faculty of Arts

3              Faculty of Basic Medical Science

4              Faculty of Business Administration

5              Faculty of Clinical Science

6              Faculty of Education

7              Faculty of Engineering

8              Faculty of Environmental Studies

9              Faculty of Law

10           Faculty of Pharmacy

12           Faculty of Science

13           Faculty of Social Science


The Library has an active collection of 46,745 volumes and handles about 409,977 lending and reference inquiries annually. Current journals stand at 271 representing all disciplinary interests. The library is equipped with modern computers and has a reading space of 970.51 metres with seating capacity for 698.

There are four main divisions: Acquisition, Lending, Processing, and Research. The Research Division comprises Reference, Serials, Special Collections and Government Collections. The Special Collection comprises Nyong Essien, Africana and Government Collection. Acquisition and Processing selects and orders library materials and organizes them for effective use. The Public Service Division deals directly with readers, regulates the use of library materials, and handles reference questions. The office of university librarian provides data for planning, budgeting, control and coordination of the library.


The University Health Centre provides free health services to students, staff and staff family members. It is open to the public. Routine services provided include:


Medical certification

Ante-natal care

Family planning

General surgery

Medical and laboratory services

Out-patient and in-patient care

Environmental and preventive health services


Below are a list of affiliate institutions of the University of Uyo, approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

St. Joseph Major Seminary, Ikot Ekpene.

Assemblies of God Divinity School, Old Umuahia.

The Apostolic Church Theological Seminary, Amumara.

The Samuel Bill Theological College, Abak.

Osun State College Of Education, Ila-Orangun (Regular).


Professor Fola Lasisi

Professor Akpan Hogan Ekpo

Professor Akaneren Essien

Professor Comfort Memfin Ekpo

Professor Enefiok Essien


Prof. A. Egrinya Eneji, Foremost Agronomist.

Bassey Albert, politician.

Valerie Ebe, lawyer and politician.

Ini Edo, actress.

Michael Enyong, politician.

Onofiok Luke, politician.

El Mafrex, urban gospel singer-songwriter.

Chibuzor Obasi, writer.

DR.PENKING,writer and Medical Doctor.

Emeka Onowu, politician.

John James Akpan Udo-Edehe, politician.

Ime Bishop Umoh, actor.


Onuegbu E. Achalu (Health Education).

Akpan Hogan Ekpo (Professor of Economics, former Vice Chancellor of the University from 2000 – 2005).

Joshua Uzoigwe (Music).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here