Tai Solarin University of Education

The Tai Solarin University of Education is a state university of education in Nigeria. It was established in 2005. It is located in Ijagun, Ijebu-Ode, Ogun State.


The university was named after the Nigerian educational administrator and human rights activist Tai Solarin (1922–1994). It is the 76th approved university in Nigeria. The Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED, pronounced TARSUD), was proclaimed a full-fledged university (and a transformation of the erstwhile Tai Solarin College of Education, established January 1978), on 29 January 2005 by the administration of His Excellency, OtunbaGbenga Daniel.

TASUED was officially approved as a university by the National Universities Commission (NUC) on Tuesday 28 November 2005. It is a citadel of learning dedicated to the production of competent professional educators and teachers who have immense knowledge of their chosen subjects/disciplines of study and the requisite pedagogical skills of subject delivery. The University is unique in that, from inception, it incorporated a four-year mandatory vocational and entrepreneurial study into the curriculum of its B.Ed, B.Sc(Ed) and B.A (Ed) programmes such that students are awarded two certificates at graduation; one in their chosen course of study and the other a proficiency certificate in the vocational and entrepreneurial study. Furthermore, a sequel to the NUC Resource Assessment exercise in April 2019, the Commission in addition to the existing programmes (undergraduate and postgraduate) granted the university the approval to establish some postgraduate programmes and the full-time mode of some undergraduate programmes. In all, 59 programmes were newly approved: 33 PhD programmes, 13 M.A, M.Sc, M.A(Ed) and M.Sc(Ed) programmes and 13 B.A and B.Scprogrammes.

Vice Chancellors

 Professor OlukayodeOyesiku was its first Vice-Chancellor. He was succeeded by Professor SegunAwonusi. In January 2013, Professor OluyemisiOluremiObilade became the 3rd Vice-Chancellor of the university. The current Vice-Chancellor is Professor AbayomiAdelajaArigbabu. He assumed office on 19 March 2018, as the 4th Vice-Chancellor of the institution.


The university has five colleges for its undergraduate programmes and a postgraduate college.

  • College of Specialised and Professional Education (COSPED)
  • College of Science and Information Technology (COSIT)
  • College of Humanities (COHUM)
  • College of Social and Management Sciences (COSMAS)
  • College of Vocational and Technology Education (COVTED)
  • The Postgraduate College (TPC)

Campus and hostels

The university has halls and auditoriums such as the OtunbaGbenga Daniel Auditorium, university (e-learning) block, Alex O. Onabanjo Complex, CEPEP building, the Science Complex, and the Lecture Theatre. It also has halls of residence (hostels) for students. Students also reside in hostels built by the residents of the local communities such as Ijagun, Ijele, Imaweje, and Ijebu Ode. MosunFilani and OluwatobiOyinlola are notable alumni of the university.


A new government came to power in Ogun State in 2011 led by Senator IbikunleAmosun and attempted to scrap TASUED. Students of the institution rose up against the decision and formed the #OccupyTASUED campaign.

On February 14, 2012, on one of their trips to the state house in Oke-Mosan Abeokuta, the bus conveying TASUED supporters got its tyre punctured and rolled over twice. The accident inflicted injuries on many and eventually caused the death of OlatunjiFashina aka Humble TeeJay. Layemi, AzeezAgboola (Olofin), Ishola Adebayo Crown, Owoblow, Tola Ben, and few others were also on the bus that was involved in the accident.

Today, TunjiFashina is being honoured as a hero of the successful struggle ’cause he paid the huge price with his life. The Students Union Govt (SUG) building got named after him.

Notable alumni

  • Olawale Ayilara (Businessman)
  • Mosun Filani (Actress)
  • Glory Onome Nathaniel (Athlete)
  • Olamide (Artist)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here