Rivers State University

Rivers State University
Faculty of Sciences, Rivers State University.jpg Faculty of Sciences
Former namesRivers State College of Science and Technology(1972-1980) Rivers State University of Science and Technology(1980-2017)
MottoExcellence & Creativity
Established1972 as University college
1980 as University
ChancellorSidi M. Bage CON, JSC (rtd) https://www.vanguardngr.com/2019/07/just-in-wike-appoints-emir-of-lafia-chancellor-of-rivers-state-university/amp/
Vice-ChancellorOpuenebo B. Owei, Acting Vice-Chancellor of the Rivers State University.
Administrative staff3,000
Students22,400 (2017)
LocationPort Harcourt ,  Rivers State ,  Nigeria
ColoursGreen, Dark Blue, and White               
NicknameRVSU, RSU (formerly RSUST)
AffiliationsASUU, NUC, ACU

Rivers State University (RVSU or RSU), formerly Rivers State University of Science and Technology(UST) is a university located in the Diobu area of Port Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria. The university has staff strength of 3,000 and a student population of 22,400 as of 2017.  It is the first technological university in Nigeria and also the first university to be situated within the Niger Delta. In 2014, it was rated as Nigeria’s best E-learning institution and was ranked as the 15th best university in the country.


The Rivers State University of Science and Technology was established in 1972 as the College of Science and Technology.  It was granted independent university status in 1980 and was renamed from College of Science and Technology to Rivers State University of Science and Technology. It is the only university in Nigeria that is accredited to offer degree programs in Marine Engineering.

Faculties and courses

Faculty of Sciences

  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Animal and Environmental Biology
  • Department of Microbiology
  • Department of Plant Science and Biotechnology
  • Department of Medical Laboratory Science
  • Department of Geology

Faculty of Engineering

  • Department of Civil
    • Highway Engineering
    • Structural Engineering
    • Hydraulics
  • Department of Marine Engineering
  • Department of Petroleum Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Chemical/petrochemical Engineering
  • Department of Agricultural And Environmental Engineering

Faculty of Law

  • Department of Business Law
  • Department of International Law
  • Department of Public Law
  • Department of Private and Property Law
  • Department of Independent Law and Crime Law

Faculty of Management Sciences

  • Department of Office And Information Management
  • Department of Marketing
  • Department of Management
  • Department of Banking And Finance
  • Department of Accountancy

Faculty of Environmental Sciences

  • Department of Land Survey
  • Department of Estate Management
  • Department of Quantity Surveying
  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Urban And Regional Planning

Faculty of Agriculture

  • Department of Forestry and Environment
  • Department of Agric and Applied Economics
  • Department of Agric Extension and Rural Development
  • Department of Animal Science
  • Department of Crop/Soil Science
  • Department of Fisheries and Aquatic Environment
  • Department of Food Science and Technology
  • Department of Forestry and Environment
  • Department of Home Science and Management

Faculty of Education

  • Department of Adult Education
  • Department of Vocational and Technical Education
  • Department of Education Management
  • Department of Education Foundation
  • Department of Business Education
  • Department of Science Education

Faculty of Humanities

  • Department of English and Literature
  • Department of History and International Relations
  • Department of Theatre Arts
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Religious Studies

College of Social Sciences

  • Department of Mass Communication
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Economics

Notable alumni

  • Judith Amaechi, former First Lady of Rivers State
  • Mary Uranta, Actress, Producer, Singer
  • Mujahid Dokubo-Asari, Ijaw activist (left before graduation)
  • Manuela George-Izunwa, Politician
  • Goodluck Nanah Opiah, Politician
  • Felicity Okpete Ovai, Engineer
  • Tonto Dikeh, Actress
  • Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, current Governor of Rivers State
  • Austin Opara, former Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives of Nigeria
  • Magnus Abe, Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Eberechi Wike, Judge of the Rivers State High Court of Justice
  • Victor Ihunwo, Mayor of Port Harcourt City


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here