Plateau State University

Plateau State University
LocationBokkos , Plateau State , Nigeria
WebsitePlateau State University Official Website

Plateau State University is a university in Bokkos, Plateau StateNigeria. It was established in 2005.  In March 2016, the National Universities Commission gave full accreditation to the first 17 programmes in the university. This gave the university a “full university” status.

Plateau State University, Bokkos was established through an instrument of Law in March 2005 and was granted recognition by the National Universities Commission (NUC) on April 29thof the same year 2005 as the 66th University in Nigeria and the 24th state owned University in the Country. The Law Establishing the University is cited as Law No. 4 of 2005 (March 7, 2005) as contained in Plateau State of Nigeria Gazette No. 3, Vol. 11 of May 24, 2006. It is located in Diram Village along the Butura-Tarangol axis in Bokkos Local Government Area, about 70 kilometres away from Jos the State capital.

Although academic activities started in May 2007 with a total of 480 students, such activities were suspended on September 10 of the same year and the students transferred to the University of Jos. The University was, however, re-opened in October 2010 during the 2010/2011 Academic Session with lectures commencing in January 2011.

As at May2018, the University had four (4) Faculties and seventeen (17) Departments/programmes. The University also has a total of 224Teaching staff (154 Permanent/Contract, 18 Sabbatical, 52 Visiting); 173 Senior non-Teaching staff (172 Permanent/Contract, 1 Sabbatical); 103 Junior staff and 40 Casual/Adhoc staff making a total of 540 staff as at June, 2018.

The philosophy of the University is “the upholding and practice of handing down knowledge, diligence, culture and values to enable the citizenry develop through an all-round, practical, result oriented and problem solving education”. Linked with this, is the realisation of modern secular education blended with high moral standard.

The University Motto is “knowledge, diligence and Integrity”. It is designed to act as an agent that would develop the “complete person” who will contribute to the growth and development of his environment scientifically, technologically, politically and economically.

The University is structured as follows: The Governing Council, Senate, Congregation and Convocation. The present Vice-Chancellor is Professor Yohana Daniel Izam. He assumed the mantle of leadership of the University on March 1st, 2018, following the expiration of tenure of the immediate past Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Doknan Decent Danjuma Sheni.

List of of Available Faculties
  1. Faculty of Arts
  2. English Language
  3. History and International Studies
  4. Theater Arts
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Economics
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Mass Communication
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
  • Accounting
  • Management Studies
  • Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Biochemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics
  • Microbiology
  • Physics
  • Geography


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here