Olabisi Onabanjo University

Olabisi Onabanjo University
Olabisi Onabanjo University.jpg
Former namesOgun State University
MottoExcellentia Humana et Patriae opus
TypeState-owned University
Vice-ChancellorProfessor Ganiyu Olatunji Olatunde
LocationAgo-Iwoye ,  Ogun ,  Nigeria

Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye is a state (owned and operated) university in Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State, Nigeria. The university was founded July 7, 1982 as Ogun State University (OSU) and was renamed Olabisi Onabanjo University on May 29, 2001 in honour of Chief (Dr.) Olabisi Onabanjo, whose efforts as the then civilian governor of Ogun State gave birth to the university. Meanwhile, many students still refer to the institution as OSU, an acronym for the former name.

The university has had a total output of 10,291 graduates and 1,697 postgraduates.

Olabisi Onabanjo University has multiple campuses. The Main Campus in Ago-Iwoye is popularly called Permanent Site (PS) by the students and a Mini Campus which was the home of the Faculty of Science till it was moved to the permanent site in January 2013. Faculty of Agriculture is in Aiyetoro, faculty of Engineering is in Ibogun, College of Medicine, faculties of Basic Medical Sciences and Pharmacy are in Shagamu. Students and alumni of the Olabisi Onabanjo University are addressed as ‘Great OOUITES.’

Information and activities amidst Students are communicated through the school’s portal as well as notable privately owned magazines/ Social media handles such as ‘OOU CAMPUS MIRROR’ ‘OOU MEDIA’ ‘OOU PRESS CLUB’, ‘OOU Update’, ‘OOU Premium’, ‘OOU Parrot’, ‘Inside OOU magazine’, ‘OOU Vanguard’, and a few others.

Faculties and departments

The university has ten faculties with a total number of fifty-six departments which are spread across its campuses in the state. They include:

Faculty of Science
This Faculty consists of six departments and it includes:

  • Department of Chemical Sciences
  • Department mathematical sciences
  • Department of Microbiology
  • Department of Plant Science and Applied Zoology
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Earth Sciences

Faculty of Education
This faculty consists of five departments and it includes:

  • Department of Educational Foundations and Counselling
  • Department of Educational Management and Business Studies
  • Department of Human Kinetics and Health Education
  • Department of Science and Technology Education
  • Department of Arts and Social Sciences Education

Faculty of Law
This faculty consists of four departments and it includes:

  • Department of Commercial Law
  • Department of International Jurisprudence
  • Department of Private Law
  • Department of Public Law

Faculty of Art
This faculty consists of five departments, which includes:

  • Department of English and Performing Arts
  • Department of Religious Studies
  • Department of History and Diplomatic Studies
  • Department of Nigerian and Foreign Languages
  • Department of Philosophy

Faculty of Social Sciences
This faculty consists of five departments, which includes:

  • Department of Mass communication
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Geography and Regional Planning
  • Department of Political Sciences
  • Department of Banking and Finance

Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
This faculty consists of seven departments, which includes:

  • Department of Haematology and Blood Transfusion
  • Department of Chemical Pathology
  • Department of Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
  • Department of Morbid Anatomy Histopathology
  • Department of Physiology
  • Department of Anatomy
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Pharmacology

Faculty of Clinical Sciences
This faculty consists of seven departments, which includes:

  • Department of Community Medicine and Primary Care
  • Department of Medicine
  • Department of Anaesthesia
  • Department of Surgery
  • Department of Radiology
  • Department of Paediatrics
  • Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Faculty of Pharmacy
This faculty consists of five departments and it includes:

  • Department of Pharmacy/Biopharmacy
  • Department of Pharmaceutics/Pharmaceutical Technology
  • Department of Pharmaceutical Medicinal Chemistry
  • Department of Pharmaceutical Microbiology

Faculty of Engineering and Environmental Sciences
This faculty consists of eight departments and it includes:

  • Department of Computer Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Electrical/Electronics Engineering
  • Department of Agricultural Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Fine and Applied Arts
  • Department of Urban and Regional Planning
  • Department of Architecture

Faculty of Agricultural Sciences
This faculty consists of six departments, which includes:

  • Department of Crop Production
  • Department of Animal Production
  • Department of Home and Hotel Management
  • Department of Cooperative and Business management
  • Department of Agricultural Economics
  • Department of Agricultural extension

Vice chancellors

  • Professor John Olubi Sodipo, (November 1982-December 1990)
  • Professor T. O Bamkole, (January 1991-March 1995)
  • Professor O. Y Oyeneye, April 1995-November 1999
  • Professor Layi Ogunkoya, November 1999-March 2001
  • Professor Afolabi Soyode, April 2001-Jan 2006
  • Professor Odutola Osilesi 2006-2009
  • Professor Sofola Olusoga, 2009 [3]
  • Professor Wale Olaitan (2009-2013).
  • Professor Saburi Adejimi[4] August 2013 – May 2017
  • Professor Ganiyu Olatunji Olatunde May 2017 till date

Administrative and Principal Officers

The school is being governed by the administrative officers (which consist of the Visitor, Pro-Chancellor, Vice Chancellor and The Council) and the principal officers (which consist of Deputy Vice Chancellor, Registrar, Bursar and Acting University Librarian).
Names and position of administrative officers

Prince DR Dapo AbiodunVisitor.
Mrs. Mosun Belo-OlusogaPro-Chancello
Prof. Ganiyu Olatunji OlatundeVice Chancellor

Names and position of Principal Officers

Prof. (Mrs.) Ebunoluwa Olufemi OduwoleDeputy Vice Chancellor
Mr. Olufemi OgunwomojuRegistrar
Mr. Semiu MakindeBursar
Dr Rahmon M. AkinbodeActing University Librarian .

Notable alumni

Amongst the alumni of Olabisi Onabanjo University are:

  • Toyin Abraham, award-winning Nollywood actor
  • Lateef Adedimeji, award-winning Nollywood Actor
  • Zainab Ahmed, current Minister of finance
  • Segun Awolowo, Nigerian Lawyer
  • Kehinde Bankole, TV host, model and nollywood actress
  • Ibrahim Bio, minister
  • Sodamola Oluseye Desmond, aka DJ Spinall
  • Emamode Edosio, popular filmmaker
  • Kunle Idowu, aka Frank Donga
  • Kaffy, dancer
  • Boluwaji Kunlere, politician
  • Titilope Lawoyin, former MBGN as Ann Suinner
  • Aramide Lopez, model and beauty queen at Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria Universe 2018
  • Sunny Melody, juju musician
  • Empress Njamah, Nollywood actress
  • Albert Odulele, pastor, televangelist and revelator
  • Ronke Odusanya, Yoruba-language film actress
  • Uchechukwu Sampson Ogah, entrepreneur
  • Debola Ogunseye, football player
  • Yetunde Onanuga, Deputy Governor Ogun state
  • Lola Shoneyin, Nigerian poet and author
  • Toun Okewale Sonaiya, radio broadcaster
  • Sunkanmi, songwriter and singer
  • Weird MC, rapper


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here