NNAMDI AZIKIWE UNIVERSITY, Awka also called UNIZIK or NAU in short is a Federal university in Nigeria. It consists of four campuses in Anambra State. Its main campus is located in the capital of Anambra State, Awka while three other campuses are located in Nnewi , Agulu and Ifite-Ogwali, Anambra State. It is one of the federal universities which are overseen and accredited by the National Universities Commission. The university is named after Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe.

Former names: ASUTECH

Motto: Discipline, Self Reliance and Excellence.

Type: Public

Established: 1991

Vice-Chancello: Charles Esimone (from 4 June 2019)

Location: Awka, Nigeria

6.242889°N 7.118289°E

Campus: Urban

Colours: Blue and orange

Nickname: Unizik, NAU

Affiliations: AAU, IAU

Website: www.unizik.edu.ng,


Nnamdi Azikiwe University came into being as an offshoot of the defunct Anambra State University of Technology (ASUTECH). ASUTECH which was established through Law No. 7 of 30 July 1980 by the Government of the old Anambra operated as a multi-campus university, with campuses in Abakiliki, Enugu, Awka and Nnewi. In 1991, following the split of the old Anambra State into Anambra and Enugu States, the Awka and Nnewi campuses of the former ASUTECH were constituted into Nnamdi Azikiwe University by the Anambra State Edict No.5 26 November 1991. Nnamdi Azikiwe University was taken over by the Federal Government by Decree No. 34 on 15 July 1992. In 1991, after the former Anambra State was split into Anambra and Enugu States, the Awka and Nnewi campuses of the former Anambra State University of Technology (ASUTECH) were combined into Nnamdi Azikiwe University, which was later taken over by Federal government. The university is named after Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first president of Nigeria. The Awka Campus became Nnamdi Azikiwe University. In 1992, the Federal Government of Nigeria took over the University from Anambra State. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, thus, became a Federal University.

Location Of The University:

Nnamdi Azikiwe University administration building

The main campus of the University is located along Onitsha – Enugu Expressway, Awka, while the second campus is at Nnewi (NAUTH and Okofia) and the third campus is at Agulu (Faculty of Pharmacy).

Notable Alumni:

Ijeoma Grace Agu, Nigerian actress.

Uche Ekwunife, Nigerian lady politician.

Destiny Etiko, Nigerian actress.

Onyeka Nnadozie Eze, businessman and philanthropist.

Mike Ezuruonye, Nigerian actor.

Benard Odoh, Nigerian Politician

Oge Okoye, Nigerian actress.

Faculties and Population:

The University had a population of 24,706 for the regular students and 12,476 students for the part-time programmes during the 2004/2005 academic year.

UNIZIK has a total of 14 faculties and 57 departments. The university has the following faculties:

1. Faculty of Agriculture

2. Faculty of Arts

3. Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

4. Faculty of Biosciences

5. Faculty of Education

6. Faculty of Engineering

7. Faculty of Environmental Sciences

8. Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology

9. Faculty of Law

10. Faculty of Management Sciences

11. Faculty of Medicine

12. Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences

13. Faculty of Physical Sciences

14. Faculty of Social Sciences


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here