THE MICHAEL OKPARA UNIVERSITY OF AGRICULTURE, originally the Federal University of Agriculture, is a federal university in Umudike, Abia State, Nigeria was established as a specialized University by a Federal Government of Nigeria Decree No 48 of November 1992. It began formal activities in May 1993 with the appointment of the first Council and Vice-Chancellor Professor Placid C. Njoku on 27 May 1993, while other key officials of the University were appointed later.

Motto: Knowledge, Food and Security
Type: Public
Established: 1992
Vice-Chancellor: Francis Otunta
Location: Umudike (main campus), Abia State, Nigeria
Colors: Green & Yellow
Nickname: Umudykes, U’dykers

Michael Okpara University of Agriculture Entrance
The first set of students were admitted into the institution during the 1993/94 academic year with a student population of 82.

The nickname “Umudykes” or “U’dykers” refers to students, alumni, and sports teams of Michael Okpara University of Agriculture.

The Organizational Structure of the institution includes:

Principal Officers,
Statutory Committees of the University Council,
Congregation, and
Principal Officers of the University Edit
The Principal Officers which consist of the Chancellor, Pro-Chancellor and the council, Vice Chancellor, Deputy Vice Chancellors (Academic and Administration), the Registrar, the Bursar, and the University Librarian.


This committee consists of the following:

The Pro-Chancellor, who serves as the Chairman of the Committee at any meeting at which he is present
The Vice-Chancellor and Deputy Vice-Chancellor(s)
Six other members of the Council appointed by the Council, two of whom are selected from among the three members of the Council appointed by the Senate and one member to the Council by congregation.
The Director-General of the Federal Ministry of Education or, in his absence, a member of his Ministry as he may designate to represent him.

This consists of:

The Vice-Chancellor and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor(s)
The Full-time members of academic staff
The Registrar
The Bursar
The Librarian
The Director of Works
The Director of Physical Planning
The Director of Academic Planning
The Director of Health Services; and
Every member of the administrative staff who holds a degree other than an honorary degree of any University recognized for the purposes of this statute by the Vice-Chancellor. The Congregation shall be entitled to express by resolution or otherwise its opinion on all matters affecting the interest and welfare of the University and shall have such other functions in addition to the function of electing a member of the Council as may be provided by statute or regulations.

The institution is located in the Agricultural Training and Research city of Umudike, about 10 kilometers from Umuahia (capital of Abia State). The major link road to the University is the Umuahia-Ikot Ekpene Federal Road, a direct route to the State capitals of Abia Akwa-Ibom and Cross River States. Being close to Umuahia, the University is linked through a major North-South Express Road to most part of the country. It commenced its activities on the premises of the former Federal College of Agriculture, Umudike.

There are eleven Colleges and a School of General Studies with fifty-seven departments.

  1. Animal Science and Animal Production:
    Animal Breeding and Physiology
    Animal Nutrition and Forage Science
    Animal Production and Livestock Management
  2. Education:
    Adult and Continuing Education
    Agricultural/Home Science Education
    Educational Management
    Industrial Technology Education
    Library and Information Science
    Psychology and Counselling
    Science Education
  3. Agricultural Economics, Rural Sociology and Extension:

Agribusiness Management
Agricultural Economics
Agricultural Extension and Rural Sociology

  1. Applied Food Science and Tourism:
    Food Science and Technology
    Home Science/Hospitality Management and Tourism
    Human Nutrition and Dietetics
  2. Crop and Soil Science:
    Plant Health Management
    Soil Science and Meteorology
  3. Engineering and Engineering Technology:
    Agricultural and Bioresources Engineering
    Chemical Engineering
    Civil Engineering
    Computer Engineering
    Electrical and Electronics Engineering
    Mechanical Engineering
  4. Management Science:
    Banking and Finance
    Business Administration
    Entrepreneurial Studies
    Human Resource Management
  5. Natural Sciences:
    Plant Science and Biotechnology
    Zoology and Environmental Biology
  6. Natural Resources and Environmental Management:

Environmental Management and Toxicology
Fisheries and Resources Management
Forestry and Environmental Management

  1. Physical and Applied Science:
    Computer Science
  2. Veterinary Medicine:
    Veterinary Anatomy
    Veterinary Medicine
    Veterinary Microbiology
    Veterinary Public Health and Preventive Medicine
    Veterinary Surgery and Radiology
    The School of General Studies consists of the following departments: English, French, German, History, Peace and Conflict, Philosophy, Physical and Health, and Social Science.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here