Lagos State University

Lagos State University
115pxgraduates from 2016 The Seal of Lagos State University
MottoPer la verità e di servizio (Latin)
Motto in EnglishFor Truth and Service
ChancellorGeorge Oguntade
Vice-ChancellorOlanrewaju Fagbohun
LocationOjo ,  Lagos State ,  Nigeria

Lagos State University, also known as LASU, was established in 1983 by the enabling Law of Lagos State of Nigeria, for the advancement of learning and establishment of academic excellence. The university caters for a population of over 35,000 students enrolled for full-time. The university also offers courses at Diploma, Undergraduate and Postgraduate levels. Lagos State University is located in Ojo, a town in Lagos State, Nigeria. LASU is the only state university in the former British colony. Lagos State University offers diploma, degree and post graduate programmes including an MBA programme. LASU was ranked among the top 600 universities in the world by Times Higher Margazine for the year 2020. The University has also attracted different international fundings including a World Bank Group Africa Centre for Excellence on Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.


Lagos State University was conceived as a multi-campus, collegiate and non-residential University. Today, Lagos State University operates a multi-campus system with four fully owned campuses having its main campus at Ojo (along the Badagry Expressway) and other campuses at Epe (where the Faculty of Engineering is located), Ikeja (where the College of Medicine is located).

Epe Campus

The Lagos State University Epe Campus, home to the Faculty of Engineering and School of Agriculture of Lagos State University, is a fully residential campus. The Epe campus was born out of the insufficiency of the Ojo campus to accommodate the Faculty of Engineering at that time. The military barrack which is now the campus was released by the persuasion of the then military governor  The campus which is also the home for the school’s Pre-degree program is unarguably the biggest property belonging to the school even bigger than the main campus itself. The campus which is located in the Epe area of Lagos is the home for the three departments in LASU’s Faculty of Engineering namely Mechanical Engineering, Electronic, and Computer Engineering and Chemical and Polymer Engineering, and the school just recently admitted students for Aeronautic Engineering in 2018 JAMB, following the accreditation of the course in LASU

The campus is being governed by the Head of School (HOC). The school of Agriculture has its own Dean as well as the Faculty of Engineering. The school is generally administered by the Vice-Chancellor. The campus produces a candidate for the post of a Vice president, Welfare director and Assistant General Secretary in its student union election. 


Areas of education and research offered by the Institution are summarized in the table below:

Faculty of ArtsForeign Languages (French, Russian), Arabic Language and PortugueseEnglish LanguageEnglish LiteratureLinguistics, African and AsianDepartment of PhilosophyDepartment of HistoryCreative Arts: Visual ArtsCreative Arts: Theatre ArtsCreative Arts: Music
Faculty of Social SciencesDepartment of EconomicsDepartment of Mass Communication and JournalismDepartment of Political ScienceDepartment of Geography and PlanningDepartment of Social WorkDepartment of PsychologyDepartment of SociologyPublic and International AffairsTransportation Planning and Management
Faculty of Management SciencesBusiness AdministrationIndustrial Relations and Personnel ManagementInsuranceAccountingBanking and FinanceProject Management TechnologyMarketingPublic Administration
Faculty of LawJurisprudence and International LawCommercial and Industrial lawPublic LawIslamic LawPrivate and Property LawLegal Studies
Faculty of ScienceDepartment of MathematicsDepartment of PhysicsDepartment of ChemistryDepartment of Computer ScienceDepartment of Zoology and Environmental BiologyDepartment of FisheriesDepartment of BotanyDepartment of Microbiology
Faculty of EngineeringChemical and Polymer EngineeringElectronic and Computer EngineeringMechanical EngineeringAeronautics Engineering
Faculty of Clinical SciencesMedicine and SurgeryDentistry
Faculty of Basic Medical SciencesPhysiologyBiochemistry
Faculty of EducationGuidance and CounselingAdult EducationAdult Education ManagementAdult Literacy and Non-formal EducationMathematics educationPhysics educationBiology educationChemistry educationIntegrated Science educationSocial Studies educationGeography EducationHistory EducationHuman Kinetics and Health EducationExercise PhysiologySports Administration/ManagementHome Economics EducationTechnology educationBusiness EducationEnglish EducationEnglish Literature educationFrench EducationYoruba EducationChristian Religious StudiesIslamic Studies EducationReligion EducationMusic educationCurriculum TheoryEducational administration and PlanningEducational PsychologyPhilosophy of educationSociology of education

Former Vice Chancellors

 Vice-Chancellor of Lagos State University

Note:† indicates “deceased”

  • Professor Folabi Olumide (Pioneer Vice Chancellor)
  • Professor (Mrs.) Jadesola Akande†
  • Professor Enitan Bababunmi†
  • Professor Fatiu Ademola Akesode†
  • Professor Abisogun Leigh
  • Professor Abdul Lateef A. Hussein
  • Professor John Obafunwa

Notable alumni

  • Oluranti Adebule, former Deputy governor Lagos State.
  • Brymo, singer and songwriter
  • Chioma Chukwuka, actress
  • Yinka Durosinmi, former Chairman of Ojo local government
  • Desmond Elliot, actor
  • Tara Fela-Durotoye, celebrity make-up artist
  • Annie Macaulay-Idibia, actress
  • Mudashiru Obasa, Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly.
  • Tajudeen Obasa, current member of the National Assembly
  • Angela Okorie, actress
  • Yinka Olukunga, actress
  • Cossy Orjiakor, actress, singer, socialite
  • Ruggedman, rapper
  • Rukky Sanda, actress
  • Jennifer Eliogu, actress.
  • Dolly Unachukwu, actress
  • Liz Da-Silva, Nigerian actress.
  • Farida Waziri, former EFCC chairman
  • Wizkid, singer and songwriter

Notable faculty

  • Fatiu Ademola Akesode
  • Charles Ayo
  • Robert Ajayi Boroffice
  • Sola Fosudo
  • Yemi Osinbajo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here