Kano Pillars Football Team is a professional football club in Nigeria that is situated in Kano state managed by Ibrahim A. Musa. They compete in the Nigerian Premier League, which is the highest level of football in the country. Sani Abacha Stadium is their home ground. Kano Pillars FC was created in 1990, the first year of Nigeria’s professional association football league. It was formed from the merger of three Kano State amateur clubs.

They’re also known as the “Ahly Killers” since they scored two spectacular goals in Egypt and drew 2–2 and 1–1 with Al Ahly Cairo in Nigeria, advancing to the African Champions’ League Group stage on the away goals rule.

 In 2008, the Kano Pillars won their first league championship. They won their second league title in 2012, beating Enyimba. In 2013, they won a second consecutive title, this time ahead of Enyimba.

They were also fortunate in 2014, as they won three league titles in a succession, joining Heartland and Enyimba.

It may interest you to know that the ever-famous KANO PILLARS were founded in 1990 by Alhaji Ibrahim Galadima, former chairman of the Nigeria Football Association and former sport commissioner of Kano, from the merger of WRECA FC, Kano Golden Stars, and Bank of the North FC. Kano Pillars won the Nigerian Premier League in 2007–08.

Abiodun Baruwa, who has subsequently played for Swiss, Austrian, Welsh, and British clubs, and Sani Kaita, who now plays for Sparta Rotterdam in the Netherlands, are both Kano Pillars alumni. Ahmed Garba ‘Yaro Yaro’, a prominent player from Kano Pillars FC, subsequently played for AB in Denmark, and Ahmed Musa, a renowned player from Kano Pillars FC, later played for Leicester City in the English Premier League after signing from CSKA Moscow. It was first incorporated as a limited liability company with the Nigerian Corporate Affairs Commission, and then as a professional football club with the Nigeria Football Association (NFA). In the 2016 league season, the Kano Pillars had an average home league attendance of 10,000.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here