Imo State University

Imo State University
Motto“Excellence in service”
Vice-ChancellorVictoria Adaobi Obasi
LocationOwerri ,  Nigeria

The Imo State University (IMSU) in Owerri, Imo State, Nigeria was established in 1981 through law No. 4 passed by the Imo State House of Assembly The university admitted the first intake of 392 pioneer students on 23 October 1981.

After the creation of Abia State in 1991, the Uturu campus of the university became the Abia State University.

Imo State University is a fully functional university. Most of the programmes of the university have obtained full accreditation from National Universities Commission of Nigeria

The result of the 1999/2000 accreditation exercise of the National Universities Commission (NUC) confirmed the high rate and acceptance of the university by the Nigerian public. The university was ranked first among all state universities in Nigeria and the 10th overall among both state and federal universities. 

Imo State University at Owerri was temporary accommodated within the campus of Alvan Ikoku Federal College of Education from May to December 1992. The University later moved to its own premises of four building within the Federal University of Technology Owerri, at the Lake Nwaebere Campus. All the translocation of the Federal University to the permanent site, Ihiagwa near Owerri, the Lake Nwaebere Campus of that university was then acquired for Imo State University. The first batch of students was allocated to the Imo State University by JAMB in February 1993. The National Universities Commission also formally approved the re-establishment of the University in 1992 at the Lake Nwaebere Campus.

Consequently, the government of Chief Evan Enwerem, in April, 1991 did not waste time in filling the vacuum by re-establishing the University in Owerri. Two options were considered by the government in the re-establishment of Imo State University at Owerri. The first option was to move at once, all staff and students at the various stages of their programmes in Uturu who want to remain in Imo State University, now in Owerri. The second option was to rebuild the University at Owerri over specified period of time. The second option was adopted after various constitutions by government then, and a target period of five years within which to complete re-establishment of the University at Owerri was considered. Professor T. O. C. Ndubizu, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Nigeria, Nsukka was then appointed the Vice-Chancellor with the responsibility of relocating and re-establishing Imo State University.


IMSU operates faculty system and has 12 faculties. The faculties are headed by Deans and Faculty Officers.

Faculty of Agriculture

Agric Economic, Extension and Rural Development
Animal Science and Fisheries
Crop Scienceand Biotechnology
Soil Science and Environment

Faculty of Education

Arts Education
Physical Science Education
Life Science Education
Social Science Education
Library and Information Science
Foundation and Counseling

Faculty of Engineering

Mechanical Engineering
Agricultural Engineering
Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Civil Engineering
Food Science and Technology

Environmental Science

Surveying and GeoInformatics
Urban and Regional Planning
Quantity Surveying
Fine and Applied Science
Estate Management

Faculty of Humanities

Religious Studies
Linguistic and Igbo
History and International Studies
Theatre Arts
English Language and Literary Studies

Health Science

Medical Laboratory Science
Nursing Science
Nutrition and Dietetics

Faculty of Law

Management Sciences

Hospitality and Tourism Management
Banking and Finance
Insurance and Actuarial Science
Management Studies

Medicine and Surgery

Faculty of Science

Animal Science and Environmental Biology
Plant Science and Biotechnology
Physics/Industrial Physics
Chemistry/Industrial Chemistry
Microbiology/Industrial Microbiology
Computer Science

Social Sciences

Geography and Environmental Management
Mass Communication
Political Science

Notable alumni

  • Anyim Pius Anyim, Nigerian politician; Former Senate President and Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF).
  • Chukwuemeka Ngozichineke Wogu, minister.
  • Chris Okewulonu, Chief of Staff.
  • Mercy Eke, The BBN Reality TV star.
  • Paschaline Alex Okoli, Nigerian actress
  • Uche Elendu, Nigerian actress


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here