FEDERAL UNIVERSITY OYE EKITI is a government-owned and -operated Nigerian university. The university is in the ancient city of Oye-Ekiti and Ikole-Ekiti making it two campuses, The university was founded in 2011 as the Federal University Oye Ekiti by the federal government of Nigeria, led by President Goodluck Jonathan.

Type: Public
Established: 2011
Chairperson: Professor Tunde Samuel
Chancellor: His Royal Majesty, Dr. Michael Idakwo Ameh Oboni, The Attah Igala
Vice-Chancellor: Professor Kayode Soremekun
Students: about 20,000.
Undergraduates: 18,500
Location: Aare Afao Road, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti, Nigeria
Campus: Ikole Campus and Oye Campus
Colours: Green, White and Gold
Website: fuoye.edu.ng

Federal University Oye Ekiti offers undergraduate programmes in fields of specialization spanning Agriculture, Arts, Law Management sciences, the Social Sciences, Engineering, Education and Sciences.

The university has 8 faculties and a school of postgraduate studies.

The Federal University Oye-Ekiti is a Federal University of Nigeria, poised to take education to the next level not only in sub-saharan Africa but indeed to the rest of the world. Established in 2011, offers students from all backgrounds degrees in Agriculture, Engineering, Social Sciences and Sciences as well as Arts, Law, Management Sciences and Education. The school had their first graduating set in 2015, with maiden convocation in April, 2017.

Federal University Oye-Ekiti (FUOYE) was one of the nine Federal Universities established by the Federal Government of Nigeria, pursuant to an executive order made by the former President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, His Excellency, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR.[3] Federal University Oye-Ekiti, whose pioneer Vice Chancellor, was Professor Chinedu Ostadinma Nebo, OON, and the present Vice Chancellor Professor Kayode Soremekun who was appointed by President Buhari in 2016, has two campuses at Oye-Ekiti and Ikole-Ekiti and 8 Faculties with 57 Departments, namely:

• The Faculty of Agriculture (Agricultural Economics and Extension, Fisheries and Aquaculture, Soil and land management, Animal production and health, Crop Production and Horticulture, Food Science Technology, Water Resources and Agrometerology, Tourism and hospitality)

• The Faculty of Engineering (Agricultural and Bio-Resources Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering, Material and Metallurgical Engineering)

• The Faculty of Social Sciences (Demography and Social Statistics, Economics and Development Studies, Psychology, Sociology, Peace and Conflict Resolution, Political Science, Mass Communication)

• The Faculty of Arts/Humanities (English and Literary Studies, Theatre and Media Arts, History and International Relations, Linguistics )

• The Faculty of Science (Animal and Environmental Biology, Biochemistry, Geology, Computer Science, Geophysics, Industrial Chemistry, Mathematics, Microbiology, Physics, Plant Science and Biotechnology)

• The Faculty of Education (Mathematics Education, English Education, Biology Education, Library and Information Science, Chemistry Education, Business Education, Agricultural Education and Educational Management)

The Faculty of Management (Accounting, Banking and Finance, Public Administration, Business Administration).

The Faculty of Law

The university is looking forward to the start of three more faculties in the next academic session, namely; Basic Medical Science, Environmental sciences and Pharmacy with physical structures being put in place.

FUOYE started her postgraduate school in February 2018, with Professor Bakare Ojo Rasaki as pioneer Dean, who was recently appointed the Hon Commissioner for Art and Culture of Ekiti state. The present Dean is Professor Mojisola Oyarekua, was formerly the Provost College of Education, Ikere-Ekiti.

The first vice-chancellor of the new university was Prof. Chinedu Nebo and the current vice-chancellor is Professor Kayode Soremekun.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here