THE FEDERAL UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY OWERRI (FUTO) is a federal government university located in Owerri West, the capital of Imo State. The University is bounded by the communities of Eziobodo, Umuchima, Ihiagwa and Obinze, in Imo State, Nigeria. It is the premier federal university of technology in the South East and South-South parts of Nigeria.

Motto: Technology For Service
Vice-Chancellor: Professor Francis Chukwuemeka Eze
Location: Owerri, Imo State, Nigeria
Campus: Urban
Nickname: FUTO
The Federal University of Owerri is the Oldest University of Technology in Nigeria and was established in 1980 by Executive fiat with the composition and appointment of the first provisional Council by Nigeria’s First Executive President Shehu Shagari. It became the first of three such Universities set up by the Federal Government of Nigeria who sought to establish a University of Technology in each geo-political region and particularly in a State which did not have a conventional University.

Federal University Of Technology Owerri (Futo) Postgraduate Admission.

FUTO began with 225 students and 60 staff (28 academic and 32 non-academic). Like other federal universities in Nigeria, FUTO is headed by a Chancellor who is usually a royal father, and followed by a Vice Chancellor who oversees the daily activities of the university.

The University also has a senate, which is the highest decision making arm of the University. FUTO students are fondly called Futoites and they number over 22,000. FUTO has over 50 professors. The current vice-chancellor is Professor Francis C. Eze.

The University was founded in 1980. It later merged with Alvan Ikoku College of Education Owerri, absorbing the latter’s students.

It is one of the premier technological universities in western Africa. Its student body comprises people from all over west Africa and beyond. It is the only federal university of technology in the south-east of Nigeria, and one of the oldest in West Africa.

The Federal University of Technology , Owerri is a specialized and purpose-oriented institution , with its main thrust as Science and Technological Development aimed at training and equipping high level skilled and technology manpower for contributing significantly to the development of the society and promoting national economy and progress.

To operate practical and training geared towards transforming the nation’s economy from consumer-oriented to production-oriented, with a sound technological base.

The university has eight colleges:

School of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (SAAT).

School of Engineering and Engineering Technology (SEET).

School of Physical Sciences (SOPS).

School of Biological Sciences (SOBS).

School of Management and Management Technology (SMAT).

School of Health (SOHT).

School of Environmental Science (SOES).

School of Basic Medical Sciences (SBMS).

School of Information and Communication Technology (SICT).

Institutes And Academic Support Centres:
Centre for Agricultural Research (CAR).

Centre for Continuing Education (CCE).

Centre for Entrepreneurial and Vocational Studies.

Centre for Industrial Studies (CIS).

Centre for Energy and Power Systems Research (CEPSR).

Centre for Research and International Development (CRID)

Centre for Women , Gender and Development Studies.

Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Centre.

Institute of Erosion Studies (IES).

University Computer Centre (UCC).

Intellectual Property and Technology Transfer Office (IPTTO).

University Library :
The University Library serves as the pivot of academic pursuit. It was opened to students at the Lake Nwaebere campus of the University on the 9th of November ,1981. The Pioneer University Librarian was Mr Joseph Chike Anafulu . The Library consists of three main blocks -Library Phases II & IV and the E-Library .


Prof. U.D. Gomwalk (1980–1986).

Prof. Amah Nduka (1986–1991).

Prof.C. O.G. Oba (1992–1999).

Prof. Jude Njoku (2000–2005).

Late Prof. C.E.O. Onwuliri (2006–2011).

Prof. Chigozie C. Asiabaka (2011–2016).

Prof. Francis Chukwuemeka Eze (2016–present).

Nigerian Universities Ranking:
The National University Commission (NUC), the body responsible for universities in Nigeria, has not done an official ranking of Nigerian universities in over 14 years.

However, FUTO is currently ranked the 18th best university in Nigeria, according to

Notable Alumni:
Smart Adeyemi – politician

Ndubuisi Ekekwe – professor

Paul Obiefule – football player


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here