Every vision has a rich history, some of which are terrible, while others are delightful. The bittersweet reminiscence adds to the narrative’s intrigue. Ado Polytechnic, like any other great person, organization, or institution, has a story to tell, and it’s always best to begin at the beginning.

Ado Ekiti Federal Polytechnic is located in Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State, Nigeria. The rector is Engr. Dayo Hephzibah Oladebeye (Phd). The school resides in Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State, Nigeria, on the Ado/Ijan Ekiti route.

The institution opened in January 1977 in Jos, Plateau State, as a college of technology with 350 National Diploma students. The following year it was relocated by the government to Akure, Ondo State, and in 1979 became a polytechnic. As a result of the growing need to enhance administrative effectiveness and convenience, the headquarters was moved back to Ado-Ekiti in 1982, Akure becoming the location of the Federal University of Technology. As of 2016 it had more than 10,000 full- and part-time students and approximately 1,500 staff.

The institution has, according to the rector, long-standing issues with herders destroying agricultural infrastructure.

Due to a reclassification that reduced their pay and suspicions of corruption, Federal Polytechnic employees went on strike in 2015 and 2016. After one or two students died, most likely from malaria, and students rioted, looted, and burned down the health center on October 8, 2017, the university was shut down indefinitely. Academic operations are moving along according to schedule now that the school is open.

Federal Polytechnic offers National Diploma and Higher National Diploma programs, as well as certificate and professional programs in the following areas: architectural technology, urban and regional planning, surveying and geoinformatics, quantity surveying, civil engineering technology, mineral resources and engineering technology, mechanical engineering technology, electrical electronics engineering, computer science, science laboratory technology, glass/ceramics technology, food technology, statistics, Marketing, Accountancy, Banking and Finance, Business Administration and Management, Estate Management, and Office Technology and Management. There are five schools: Business Studies, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Science and Computer Studies, and the newly established School of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here