Brief History

Bingham University located in Karu, 25 kilometres from the Federal Capital city of Nigeria Abuja, was established in 2005 by the Evangelical Church Winning All (ECWA) as a Conventional University. It is one of the six private universities in the north and the only one established by a Christian organisation.

The main purpose of ECWA was to meet the daring need for high quality Secular Education which recognises and integrates the moral and spiritual values on which the Christian faith is founded as well as focuses on entrepreneurial studies in order to promote self-reliance among graduates of the University.

The university has had four (4) Vice Chancellors since inception. The Pioneer Vice Chancellor was Professor Aaron Gana of blessed memory from 2006 – 20017. He was succeeded by Professor Felix I. Anjorin also of blessed memory, from 2007 – 2013. The third Vice Chancellor was Professor Leonard Kursim Fwa from 2013 – 2017, while the fourth Vice Chancellor is Professor Williams Barnabas Qurix, 2018 onward.

Mission & Vission


The mission of Bingham University is to produce graduates that are excellent in knowledge, character and skills for self-reliance and in the fear of Christ


To become a world class University in knowledge and skills while inculcating moral and spiritual values on which the Christian faith is founded

 Bingham University is a Nigerian university.

ECWA started planning for the University in 2003. A charter was granted by the Nigerian University Commission in 2005. Lectures commenced in 2006. The university has its permanent campus on the outskirts of Abuja (the Nigerian capital) in New Karu, Nasarawa State and has occupied it since 3 March 2008. The University Teaching Hopital is located in Jos, Plateau (state). Accommodation for students is on campus.


ECWA Bingham University offers courses such as

  • Business Administration
  • Economics
  • Mass Communication
  • Biochemistry
  • Microbiology
  • English
  • Medicine and Surgery (MBBS)
  • Sociology
  • Political Science
  • Computer Science
  • Accounting
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Anatomy
  • Physiology
  • Law
  • Public Health


The pro-chancellor is Professor Gwamna Dogara Far.

The late Prof. A.T. Gana was the first vice chancellor of the university. The current vice chancellor is Prof. William Barnabas Qurix.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here