American University of Nigeria (AUN) is a private university in Yola, Adamawa of northeastern Nigeria that offers the American style of higher education programs at the undergraduate, graduate, and professional levels . Founded in 2004, it is the first American-style university in Sub-Saharan Africa. AUN is accredited by the National Universities Commission.


Founded in 2004 by a former Vice President of Nigeria and Peoples Democratic Party presidential candidate in the 2019 election, Atiku Abubakar, American University of Nigeria enrolled its first students in 2005. The university is located in Yola, the state capital of Adamawa.

The university was originally named the ABTI American University of Nigeria before it was later changed to AUN. AUN is the first American-style institution of higher learning in sub-Saharan Africa (the only other such university in Africa is the American University in Cairo in Egypt). AUN is a member of the Association of American International Colleges and Universities and the Global Liberal Arts Alliance. The university’s current president is Dr. Dawn Dekle, preceded by Dr. David Huwiler, Dr. Michael Smith, and Dr. Margee Ensign.


The university consists of six schools, offering the following undergraduate majors and graduate programs:

School of Arts and Sciences

  • BSc Communications & Multimedia Design
  • BSc Natural & Environmental Science
  • BSc Petroleum Chemistry
  • BA Economics
  • BA Politics & International Studies
  • BA English Language & Literature

School of Business & Entrepreneurship

  • BSc Business Administration (with specialties)
  • BSc Accounting
  • BSc Finance
  • BSc Marketing
  • BSc Management & Entrepreneurship

School of Law

  • LL.B (Bachelor of Laws)

School of Engineering

  • BEng Chemical Engineering
  • BEng Computer Engineering
  • BEng Electrical/Electronics Engineering
  • BEng Systems Engineering
  • BEng Telecommunication Engineering

School of Information Technology & Communications

  • BSc Software Engineering
  • BSc Computer Science
  • BSc Information Systems
  • Telecommunications & Wireless Technologies

School of Graduate Studies

  • Post Graduate Diploma in Management (PGDM)
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
  • MSc Business Administration
  • PhD Business Administration
  • Masters in Information Technology
  • Masters in Telecommunications
  • Masters of Information Systems Security Management
  • MSc Computer Science
  • MSc Information Systems
  • PhD Computer Science
  • PhD Information Systems


AUN is a residential campus situated on 2,400 hectares. It is home to approximately 1,400 undergraduate students and 87 faculty members.

The university’s e-Library Project received the American Library Association’s Presidential Citation for Innovative International Library Projects in 2013.


Members of board

  • Mr. Akin Kekere-Ekun                    Chairman
  • Dr. William Bertrand                       Vice-chairman
  • Bishop Matthew Hassan Kukah     Vice-chairman
  • Dr. Louis Goodman        
  • Ambassador John Campbell      
  • Dr. Enyantu Ifenne        
  • Mr. Ike Chioke                  
  • Dr. Gilbert Bukenya      
  • Mr. Jon Freeman              
  • Admiral Dele Ezeoba (rtd.)    
  • Dr. Usman Bugaje          
  • Dr. Kevin Quigley      
  • Mr. Peter Okocha            
  • Dr. Peter Lewis                
  • Dr. Magdalyne Dura    
  • Alhaji Tajuddeen Dantata
  • Alhaji Usman Wurochekke
  • Dr. Dawn Dekle                              AUN President/member ex-officio

List of Presidents

  • David Huwiler
  • Michael Smith
  • Margee Ensign
  • Dawn Dekle


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here