ABUBAKAR TAFAWA BALEWA UNIVERSITY (ATBU) is a federal university of technology located in Bauchi, north east Nigeria. The university is named after the first Prime Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa. The motto of the university is “Doctrina Mater Artium”, which means “Education is the mother of the practical arts”.

Type: Public

Established: 1980

Chancellor: Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe Aladesanmi III (Ewi of Ado-Ekiti)

Vice-Chancellor: Professor Muhammad A. AbdulAzeez

Administrative staff: 1000

Undergraduates: 10,000

Postgraduates: 200

Location: Bauchi, Bauchi State, Nigeria

Campus: Urban

Nickname: ATBU ‘Makera’A place where students are being taught and well trained

Affiliations: Association of African Universities

Website: http://www.atbu.edu.ng/

The university was established in 1980 as the Federal University of Technology, Bauchi. The institution’s first students were admitted in October 1981 for pre-degree and remedial programmes while the degree courses of the School of Science and Science Education began in October 1982. On 1 October 1984, the university was merged with Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Nigeria with a change of name to Abubakar Tafawa Balewa College, Ahmadu Bello University, Bauchi campus. The university regained its autonomous status in 1988 following a general demerger of such institutions. This was followed by a change of name to Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi.

The academic pattern of the university was formulated in 1980 after consultation with subject experts from Nigeria, United Kingdom and the United States of America. The curriculum adopted was applied in nature, as suited a technologically based institution, and this theme is maintained in all the units of the university.

The university offers degrees through six schools: the School of Engineering, Science, Environmental Technology, Agriculture, Management Technology and the School of Technology Education. It offers entry level bachelor’s degrees and both Masters and Doctorate degrees. Each school is headed by a Dean who reports directly to the Vice Chancellor. The Vice Chancellor is the executive head of the university. The Vice Chancellor is appointed by the Federal Government of Nigeria on recommendation by the Governing Council of the University.


Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University has a chancellor as the ceremonial head of the university, while the Vice-chancellor is the chief executive and academic officer of the university. The vice-chancellor is usually appointed for a 5-year, non-renewable term. The 8th and current vice-chancellor, Professor Muhammad A. AbdulAzeez.

Since inception the University has been managed by the following Chief Executives:

1. Professor Adewale Oke Adekola         1980–1984           Vice-Chancellor

2. Professor Buba Garegy Bajoga               1984–1988           Provost

3. Professor Buba Garegy Bajoga               1988–1995           Vice-Chancellor

4. Professor Abubakar Sani Sambo           1995–2004           Vice-Chancellor

5. Professor Garba Aliyu Babaji   2004–2009           Vice-Chancellor

6.            Professor Muhammad Hamisu Muhammad         2009–2014           Vice-Chancellor

7. Professor Abdulrahman Saminu Ibrahim           2014–2019           Vice-Chancellor

8. Professor Muhammad A. AbdulAzeez 2019–Date          Vice-Chancellor

Currently, the university has over 30 Academic Departments, 6 Faculties, 8 Directorates and 7 Centers, with an undergraduate students’ population of over 10,000. A college of Medical Science has been established in the University and has since taken off.


The University Has the following Faculties:

Faculty of Agriculture & Agricultural Technology:

1              Department of Animal Production

2              Department of Crop Production

3              Department of Soil Science

4              Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension

Faculty of Engineering & Engineering Technology:

1              Department of Agriculture and Bio-Resource Engineering

2              Department of Automobile Engineering

3              Department of Chemical Engineering

4              Department of Civil Engineering

5              Department of Computer and Communication Engineering

6              Department of Electrical/Electronic Engineering

7              Department of Mechanical/Production Engineering

8              Department of Mechatronics and Systems Engineering

9              Department of Petroleum Engineering

Faculty of Environmental Technology:

1              Department of Architectures

2              Department of Building

3              Department of Environmental Management Technology

4              Department of Estate Management and Valuation

5              Department of Industrial Design

6              Department of Survey & Geo-Informatics

7              Department of Quantity Survey

8              Department of Urban & Regional Planning

Faculty of Management Technology:

1              Department Banking & Finance Technology

2              Department of Management & Information Technology

3              General Studies

4              Department of Accounting

5              Department of Technopreneurship

6              Department of Business Management

Faculty of Technology Education               :

1              Department of Education Foundation

2              Department of Science Education

3              Department of Vocational & Technology Education

4              Department of Library and information science

Faculty of Science:

1              Department of Mathematical Sciences

2              Department of Biological Sciences

3              Department of Chemistry

4              Department of Geology

5              Department of Physics

6              Department of Biochemistry

7 Department of Ecology

8 Department of Biochemistry

9              Department of Microbiology

College of Medicine:

The University has a college of medical Sciences that offers medical and health related courses.

Academic Support Units:

There are two directorates that provides academic support services to the university. These are:

1. Directorate of Basic and Remedial Studies

2. General Studies Directorate

School of Postgraduate Studies;

The School of Postgraduate Studies of ATBU is saddled with the following responsibility

Coordinating all the postgraduate programme of studies in the University, such as postgraduate planning, admission, registration and examination.

Maintenance of postgraduate academic standards, and

Monitoring and evaluating the progress of postgraduate studies in the University and submission of an annual report to Senate.

Notable Alumni:

Isa Ali Pantami Nigerian Minister of Communication


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here